Author Topic: Low Air Flow  (Read 441 times)

Offline steve_togo

Low Air Flow
« on: September 18, 2018, 04:52:21 PM »
Hello everyone,

I am a newb here and I would like some help. We had a new Furnace and AC installed last year
EL296UH070XV36B
14ACXS030-230A22   

I believe its a 2.5 ton AC unit. All my jumpers on the furnace board are at the default setting and as per the manual the default setting would yield around 800 CFM. I see a lot of posts online as to 400 CFM per ton guidelines. We experience very low air flow, What is the best way to increase the air flow. I did see a post asking to wire the Y1 from the thermostat to the Y2 of the furnace board. I am curious as to how this will work as the the connection to the outside condenser is from Y1 on the furnace board. I do have an Ecobee4 TS.

Thanks,
Steve

Offline Admin

• Administrator
    • HVAC TECH GROUP
Re: Low Air Flow
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2018, 07:22:05 PM »
That other post was wrong.  Y1 is what you use and the default second stage cooling CFM is 1230.  You only need 1000 CFM.  You could boost the cooling airflow by 10% to 1355 by turning dip switch #7 to ON.

The control board should display the CFM.  Pull the front door off and look through the window in the bottom door.

Cooling stage (1 second ON, 0.5 second OFF) / 1 or 2 displayed / Pause / cfm setting displayed / Pause / Repeat codes).

You may just have an ductwork problem or maybe the AC coil above the furnace is dirty.

Offline steve_togo

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2018, 09:47:17 PM »
Thanks for the quick response, how can I get 1265 cfm when I am using only a single stage compressor. I live in Michigan and do you think the cfm I have now is good? I have attached the blower data for my furnace and based on the table I don’t see how I can get to 1000 unless I connect the outdoor unit and thermostat yo y2 on my furnace board and reduce the airflow by 10%. Is that what you are suggesting I do?

Offline Admin

• Administrator