Author Topic: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat  (Read 1584 times)

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« on: October 16, 2017, 07:54:15 PM »
Hello everyone I just purchased a single stage stat and want to replace my 2-stage Stat. I have the same brand of replacement thermostat  which is White Rodgers and the issue I have is where do I put the white w/2 wire being as my single stage stat does not have the w/2 connection slot. Where can I put that w/2 wire ??


Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2017, 07:55:49 PM »
Sorry it’s the black wire at w/2 not white ***

Offline Admin

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2305
    • HVAC TECH GROUP
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2017, 08:13:06 PM »
If you put both W wires together on the thermostat it should run the furnace in high stage heating.  To get 2 stage operation you would need to disconnect the W2 wire at the furnace and thermostat, then adjust the furnace control board to single stage.  What model of furnace do you have?

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2017, 08:17:27 PM »
Ok that is great, I mean two stage would be nice if I could make that work with my new stage 1 stat. And I have a Lennox G61 mpv furnace

Online tenletters

  • Pro Tech™
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
    • Free Online HVAC Training
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2017, 08:37:43 PM »
Cap off your w2. Leave W1. The G61 will have a dipswitch that you can set to tell it you have a single stage thermostat and it will kick to W2 via the board after 10 min.

https://www.lennox.com/lib/legacy-res/pdfs/installation_maintenance/lennox_g61mpv_iom.pdf page 43. Switch dipswitch #1 to on

You can use your W2 as a C wire as well.
https://www.hvactechgroup.com/hvacforum/index.php?topic=2742 - Free Online Tech Course - HVAC Basics

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2017, 08:50:44 PM »
Ok here is how my 1-4 dipswitches are looking as of now, so all I have to do is turn on switch 1 and leave the rest ? Then cap off my w/2 wire at my stat and I’m good ? :)

Online tenletters

  • Pro Tech™
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
    • Free Online HVAC Training
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2017, 09:01:31 PM »
Ok here is how my 1-4 dipswitches are looking as of now, so all I have to do is turn on switch 1 and leave the rest ? Then cap off my w/2 wire at my stat and I’m good ? :)
They all look on right now (I think). Can't really see.
Try:
1: on
2: off
3/4: off
https://www.hvactechgroup.com/hvacforum/index.php?topic=2742 - Free Online Tech Course - HVAC Basics

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2017, 09:14:53 PM »
sorry about that ! yes they are all in the off position. i will switch the 1 to the on position and leave the rest off, cap off w/2 at the stat and I should be good to go ??

Online tenletters

  • Pro Tech™
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
    • Free Online HVAC Training
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2017, 09:28:02 PM »
sorry about that ! yes they are all in the off position. i will switch the 1 to the on position and leave the rest off, cap off w/2 at the stat and I should be good to go ??

They all looked on from the picture. I couldn't make it out, but if you had a 2 stage stat, it would have been on. The other 3 looked the same as the first

Might wanna check the manual I sent and compare it to your board.

After that, yeah should be good. 
https://www.hvactechgroup.com/hvacforum/index.php?topic=2742 - Free Online Tech Course - HVAC Basics

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2017, 09:33:35 PM »
oh ok well they were indeed all off !? maybe they weren't right to begin with as that was for the previous 2-stage stat.  but from what i got from you everything matches to what your telling me I've checked in and i am going to cap off w/2 and turn the #1 switch on and connect my new single stage thermostat

Online tenletters

  • Pro Tech™
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
    • Free Online HVAC Training
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2017, 09:38:27 PM »
You'd know better than me. I couldn't load the image well here. It was super tiny.

Time to test it now. Turn on heat a few degrees above room temp. Go down to your furnace and listen to it. Should sound somewhat quiet. After ten min you should hear it ramp up to full.
https://www.hvactechgroup.com/hvacforum/index.php?topic=2742 - Free Online Tech Course - HVAC Basics

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2017, 10:50:22 PM »
Ok everything is hooked up I heard the fan kick up exactly 10 minutes in and it seems to be running great ! I think it might be good to go !!!

Online tenletters

  • Pro Tech™
  • *****
  • Posts: 86
    • Free Online HVAC Training
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2017, 10:55:33 PM »
Good stuff!
https://www.hvactechgroup.com/hvacforum/index.php?topic=2742 - Free Online Tech Course - HVAC Basics

Offline Jawjaboy

  • ***
  • Posts: 8
Re: Going from a 2-stage stat, to a single stage stat
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2017, 11:06:06 PM »
Thanks for your help it was A+ take care !!! Thanks again !!!